Spain and a “worldwide” dominance 

A short review of the three editions of the Padbol World Cup, in which a Spanish couple was always the winner


Each Padbol match has something special, but like every sport it also has a World Cup that captures the attention of the entire planet. That happened in the three editions that the discipline developed since its creation. The outstanding fact is that a Spanish team was always the winner. 

The first time a World Cup was played was in March 2013, more precisely in La Plata, Buenos Aires, Argentina. There, 16 teams from Argentina, Uruguay, Spain and Italy participated. And it was the Ocaña and Palacios Spanish team who took the title after beating their compatriots Saiz and Rodríguez by a double 6-1. 

The second time was the following year in La Nucía, Spain. And again, competitors from that country kept the trophy. This time it was the leaders of the fusion sport, Juan Alberto Ramón and Juanmi Hernández, who defeated the defending champions Ocaña and Palacios 6-4 and 7-5. 

Meanwhile, the third and last time was in 2016, in Punta del Este (Uruguay), where the Spanish also won the title: Juanal Ramón, Hernández and Miguel Barceló. They defeated the Argentina players Maidana and Lavallén 6-3 4-6 and 6-3.

In turn, that championship was the first edition of the women’s World Cup, which Romanians Gherghel and Chiar’s team won, beating the Spanish Rodríguez and Flores team 4-6, 6-2 and 6-1.

Who will win next? Will the Spanish dynasty continue or will there be new champions?  

FacebookEmailWhatsAppMessengerTelegramCopy Link